XLLoop 0.3.1 Released

A new version of XLLoop is now available at the sourceforge site: xlloop.sf.net.

The main changes are:

  • Added round-robin connection mode for multiple servers in binary mode
  • Added retry ability to binary mode
  • Added annotation support for function information to reflection-based java functions
  • Java server framework now requires Java 1.5 (for annotations)
  • Generic function category can be customized
  • Added ability to load INI keys from an external file
  • Added ability to load INI keys from the registry
16 Responses to XLLoop 0.3.1 Released

  1. Z jonsson says:

    Amazing piece of software, just what I have been looking for, for quite some time. I have a large set of python routines that I would like to hook up to Excel. So far so good, but I have two questions (both Python related)

    1) I have no problem using column vectors as inputs, but when I use row vectors or matrices I get an error, just using the standard .py server with no adjustments (ArgsTest). As it looks like the code should support rows/matrices, is there a tweak I can make to the xlloop.py to fix this?

    2) The GetFunctions method to set-up all functions inside Excel seems like a great way to make the interface very user friendly from Excel. However, I could not find any description of the FunctionInformation array so I could not find a way to make this work from Python. Is there a description how I should construct such an array in python as a response to the GetFunctions call?

    Many thanks,
    Z

  2. Z Jonsson says:

    First issue solved. There seems to be a minor bug in the xloop.py file.
    Line 60: change “a.append(a)” to a.append(aa)”
    to get rows and matrices working smoothly.

    Still very interested to see if we can figure out the second issue, i.e. the GetFunctions definition from Python.

    I apologize if this is not the right forum, in which case I would appreciate if someone could point me in the right direction.

    • poidasmith says:

      Hi,

      Thanks for the info. I will update the script for the next release.

      To get the GetFunctions working you need to pass back an array of 2 column arrays.. its a little convoluted as its stuffed in the XL_MULTI type. You need essentially:

      [
      [ “functionName”, “MyFunction” ],
      [ “functionHelp”, “Provides something really useful” ],
      [ “category”, “My Python Functions” ],
      [ “argumentText”, “arg0,arg1,arg2” ],
      [ “argumentHelp”, [ “arg0 is great”, “arg1 is better”, … ],
      ], [ .. ]

      Only the functionName parameter is mandatory.

      Hope that is clear.

      Cheers,
      Peter

      • stustd says:

        Hi Poidasmith:

        Will you be so kind helping me in getting XLLoop work from Excel?

        My questions are the following:
        1) When I start the reflect_example.py a message “Starting Function Server on port 5460…” is printed on the DOS command line. I don’t see this message when I start the server_example.py, is that normal?
        2) After I’ve started the server_example.py how will I see/access the functions from Excel?

        Thanks,

        StuStd

  3. Z Jonsson says:

    Much appreciated. I do understand the GetFunctions onceptually, however I can not get it to work in practice. There is some very specific detail I must be missing. For example, if I insert the following into the invoke function of the TestHandler in “server-example.py”

    if name == “org.boris.xlloop.GetFunctions”:
    return [[“functionName”,”test”],[“category”,”PYTHON”],]

    .. I still don´t see the function “test” inside Excel. I have tried various different combinations of arrays (different row/column combinations) but none of them work. Could you please take a look and share an exact line that works in the python demo when you run it?

    If it helps, I can return the favor by writing a generic GetFunctions object/code, which might simplify this whole process for python users?

    PS: There was a typo in line 135 of xlloop.py (TupleType section):
    “isintance” should be “isinstance” I guess

    I really appreciate your work,
    Ziggy

  4. Z Jonsson says:

    My bad, the answer is that the outer bracket must be a tuple, like hinted in your answer. Everything works great now, with the typo in line 135 fixed and the following return statment (for example):
    return ([[“functionName”,”df”],[“category”,”PYTHON”]],)

    Great stuff!
    Z

  5. Steve Morring says:

    The HTTP protocol doesn’t seem to sent the “org.boris.xlloop.Initialize” function to the JSON servlet.

    I’ve tried explicitly setting send.user.info=true without success either.

    The “binary” protocol sends the username and computername properly in the “Initialize” function.

    Any guidance is appreciated.

    • poidasmith says:

      Hi,

      Thanks for the bug report. Yes, there is an issue here. I’ll make a fix and get a release out shortly.

      Regards,
      Peter

  6. scot says:

    First off, great tool! as a newbie….Can you point me to examples of creating a functions that take excel ranges and then loop over the the ranges in excel? not sure of how a excel ranges and variant fields map into java. thanks. -Scot

    • poidasmith says:

      Hi,
      Excel ranges are sent to your java server as XLArray objects. You can use the methods on this object to access the data – eg. get(int row, int column). Internally the data is stored in a 1D array in row-major order.
      Hope that helps.
      Regards,
      Peter

  7. Ale says:

    Hi,
    Is it possible to create objects in the spreadsheet with Xlloop?
    E.g… ‘=FS(“MakeObject”,”FooClass”,”FooObject”,param1,param2)

    Where MakeObject puts the newly created FooClass object (named FooObject) in a map, and makes it retrieveable with a key: e.g. “=FS(“GetObject”,”FooObject”)

    If it is, can you write a couple of lines with an example?

    Regards,
    Ale

    • poidasmith says:

      Hi,

      Yes, it is quite easy to do this with XLLoop, There is a utility class in the util package in the download called ObjectRegistry. It is basically a cache for object, that returns a “handle” to that object as a string. This is used by the ReflectionFunctionHandler – if you return an Object from your method it will automatically convert this to an object handle. This handle is a string, which can be used in your spreadsheet to refer to the object on the server.

      This in used in the lisp handler (included in the source in the download) – see http://xlloop.sourceforge.net/lisphandler.html – the second screenshot show a server object handle being used in the spreadsheet.

      Hope that helps!

      Regards,
      Peter

  8. tungnguyen says:

    Hi,
    I considered that XLLoop can return a object or array of strings to excel, then the add in on excel put separate attribute and value on separate cell?
    Thanks

  9. AF says:

    Hi,

    I am trying to figure out how to return a list from Python and display the values in the list in separate Excel cells. Can anyone help with this?

    Thanks!
    – A

  10. click here says:

    After I start your Rss feed it seems to be a lot of nonsense, is the problem on my side?

